Mohd Nasir Isa's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Wimbledon Day 13 Results – Nadal Clinches Second Wimbledon Crown; Paes-Black Win Mixed Doubles

leave a comment »

Wimbledon
£ 6,196,000 GRAND SLAM 2000
Wimbledon, Great Britain (+1 hours GMT)
21 June – 4 July, 2010     Surface: Grass
www.ATPWorldTour.com
RESULTS – SUNDAY, 4 JULY, 2010

Singles – Final
[2] R Nadal (ESP) d [12] T Berdych (CZE) 63 75 64

Mixed Doubles – Final
[2] L Paes (IND) / C Black (ZIM) d [11] W Moodie (RSA) / L Raymond (USA) 64 76(5)

Read match reports at ATPWorldTour.com

WHAT THE PLAYERS SAID

Nadal: “It’s more than a dream for me. It was always my dream to play on this court and today, to play a fourth final for me was amazing. I couldn’t be here last year but this year I came back and to have this trophy in my hands is more than a dream.”

Comparing his two Wimbledon titles: “Every one is really special. Is difficult to say this one is more special. The other one was more dramatic, the way to win. So first title is always very, very special.

“For sure after not easy year for me. [To] be back at my favourite tournament of the world here and play well another time, and not only play well, [but to] finish with the trophy is amazing for me. Was very difficult for me to be back at my best. I did, so is very important and emotional moment for me. I want to enjoy that.”

Berdych: “It was a great two weeks for me, but he was very strong today. He’s showed in the last few months that he’s really the champion and he just deserved to win today.”

“I hope this gives me a lot of confidence and some extra power to be stronger for next time and who knows what’s going to happen in the next few years.”

Written by mohdnasirisa

05/07/2010 at 6:19 am

Posted in Sport

Leave a Reply

